The Art Ensemble of Chicago - The Art Ensemble of Chicago and associated ensembles (CD Box Set)

The Art Ensemble of Chicago - The Art Ensemble of Chicago and associated ensembles (CD Box Set)

  • $99.99
    Unit price per 

The Art Ensemble of Chicago - The Art Ensemble of Chicago and associated ensembles (CD Box Set)

Includes 21 CDs

THE ART ENSEMBLE OF CHICAGO AND ASSOCIATED ENSEMBLES is a 21-CD limited and numbered edition issued as the standard-bearers of Great Black Music prepare to celebrate their 50th anniversary. Both the Art Ensemble of Chicago and ECM Records were founded in 1969, and there have been many shared experiences. As Roscoe Mitchell says, “It has been amazing to have taken this journey together.”
With their first ECM album, the widely-acclaimed Nice Guys, the Art Ensemble’s revolutionary and polystylistic “ancient to the future” mix of musics - from the deeply spiritual to the fiercely experimental - was illuminated in new detail in Manfred Eicher’s panoramic production, and the stage set for many adventures to follow. These included the albums Full ForceUrban Bushmen, and The Third Decade with the classic AEC quintet line up of Roscoe Mitchell, Joseph Jarman, Lester Bowie, Malachi Favors Maghostut and Famoudou Don Moye. All of Bowie’s and Mitchell’s subsequent ECM recordings are also gathered together here. Charismatic trumpeter Lester Bowie is heard here with his Brass Fantasy group, with Wadada Leo Smith and with Jack DeJohnette. Multi-reed master and primary AEC conceptualist Roscoe Mitchell appears with his Note Factory band, with the Transatlantic Art Ensemble co-founded with Evan Parker, and with an historic trios project recorded at Chicago’s Museum of Contemporary Art. Along the way, numerous distinguished creative musicians make appearances – the long list includes Muhal Richard Abrams, Henry Threadgill, Craig Taborn, Vijay Iyer, Matthew Shipp, Tyshawn Sorey, Fontella Bass, Charlie Haden, Kenny Wheeler, Corey Wilkes, Gerald Cleaver, Phillip Wilson, George Lewis, William Parker, John Abercrombie, Eddie Gomez, and many others, in ECM recordings made between 1978 and 2015.
This beautifully-designed box set incorporates a 300-page book reprising all original album covers, liner notes and poetry (by Joseph Jarman), as well as quotes from Art Ensemble members and the press, new texts by Craig Taborn, Vijay Iyer and George Lewis, a preface by Manfred Eicher, and an introduction by Steve Lake. Plus: many photographs (some previously unpublished), archival documents, and more.

CD-1: Nice Guys

  1. Ja
  2. Nice Guys
  3. Folkus
  4. 597-59
  5. Cyp
  6. Dreaming Of The Master

CD-2: Full Force

  1. Magg Zelma
  2. Care Free
  3. Charlie M
  4. Old Time Southside Street Dance
  5. Full Force

CD-3: Urban Bushman

  1. Promenade: Cote Bamako I
  2. Bush Magic
  3. Urban Magic: March / Warm Night Blues Stroll / Down the Walkway / RM Express
  4. Sun Precondition Two / Theme For Sco: Soweto Messenger Bushman Triumphant / Entering the City / Announcement of Victory


  1. New York Is Full Of Lonely People
  2. Ancestral Meditation
  3. Uncle
  4. Peter And Judith
  5. Promenade: Cote Bamako II
  6. Odwalla / Theme

CD-5: The Third Decade

  1. Prayer For Jimbo Kwesi
  2. Funky AECO
  3. Walking In The Moonlight
  4. The Bell Pierce
  5. Zero
  6. Third Decade

CD-6: Leo Smith: Divine Love

  1. Divine Love
  2. Tastalun (dedicated to Lester Bowie)
  3. Spirituals: The Language Of Love

CD-7: Lester Bowie: The Great Pretender

  1. The Great Pretender
  2. It’s Howdy Doody Time
  3. When The Doom (Moon) Comes Over The Mountain
  4. Doom?
  5. When The Moon Comes Over The Mountain
  6. Rios Negros
  7. Rose Drop
  8. Oh, How The Ghost Sings

CD-8: Lester Bowie: All The Magic!

  1. For Louie
  2. Spacehead
  3. Ghosts
  4. All The Magic / Everything Must Change / T. Jam Blues
  5. Let The Good Times Roll


  1. Organic Echo
  2. Dunce Dance
  3. Charlie M. (Part III)
  4. Thirsty?
  5. Almost Christmas
  6. Down Home
  7. Okra Influence
  8. Miles Davis Meets Donald Duck
  9. Deb Deb’s Face
  10. Monkey Waltz
  11. Fradulent Fanfare
  12. Organic Echo (Part II)

CD 10: Lester Bowie’s Brass Fantasy: I Only Have Eyes For You

  1. I Only Have Eyes For You
  2. Think
  3. Lament
  4. Coming Back, Jamaica
  5. Nonet
  6. When The Spirit Returns

CD-11: Lester Bowie’s Brass Fantasy: Avant Pop

  1. The Emperor
  2. Saving All My Love For You
  3. B Funk
  4. Blueberry Hill
  5. Crazy
  6. Macho (Dedicated To Machito)
  7. No Shit
  8. Oh, What A Night

CD-12: Tribute To Lester

  1. Sangaredi
  2. Suite For Lester
  3. Zero / Alternate Line
  4. Tutankhamun
  5. As Clear As The Sun
  6. He Speaks to Me Often in Dreams

CD-13: Roscoe Mitchell: Nine To Get Ready

  1. Leola
  2. Dream And Response
  3. For Lester B
  4. Jamaican Farewell
  5. Hop Hip Bip Bir Rip
  6. Nine To Get Ready
  7. Bessie Harris
  8. Fallen Heroes
  9. Mover Toward The Light
  10. Big Red Peaches

CD-14: Roscoe Mitchell, The Transatlantic Art Ensemble: Composition / Improvisation Nos. 1, 2 & 3

  1. I
  2. II
  3. III
  4. IV
  5. V
  6. VI
  7. VII
  8. VIII
  9. IX

CD-15: Evan Parker, The Transatlantic Art Ensemble: Boustrophedon

  1. Overture
  2. Furrow 1
  3. Furrow 2
  4. Furrow 3
  5. Furrow 4
  6. Furrow 5
  7. Furrow 6
  8. Finale

CD-16: Roscoe Mitchell, The Note Factory: Far Side

  1. Far Side / Cards / Far Side
  2. Quintet 2007 A For Eight
  3. Trio Four For Eight
  4. Ex Flover Five

CD-17: Roscoe Mitchell: Bells For The South Side

  1. Spatial Aspects of the Sound
  2. Panoply
  3. Prelude to a Rose
  4. Dancing in the Canyon
  5. EP 7849
  6. Bells for the South Side


  1. Prelude to the Card game, Cards for Drums, and The Final Hand
  2. The Last Chord
  3. Six Gongs and Two Woodblocks
  4. R509A Twenty B
  5. Red Moon In The Sky / Odwalla

CD-19: Jack DeJohnette, New Directions: New Directions

  1. Bayou Fever
  2. Where Or Wayne
  3. Dream Stalker
  4. One Handed Woman
  5. Silver Hollow

CD-20: Jack DeJohnette, New Directions: In Europe

  1. Salsa For Eddie G.
  2. Where Or Wayne
  3. Bayou Fever
  4. Mutlo Spiliagio

CD-21: Jack DeJohnette, Muhal Richard Abrams, Larry Gray, Roscoe Mitchell, Henry Threadgill: Made In Chicago

  1. Chant
  2. Jack 5
  3. This
  4. Museum of Time
  5. Leave Don’t Go Away
  6. Announcement
  7. Ten Minutes